So, it’s been a while.

February 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

Sorry about the delay in writing folks. In all honesty, it’s not that I haven’t had the time, it’s that I haven’t been inspired. I’ve spent a lot of the last month trying not to be sick, and feeling the winter blues.

This week, though, marked a really interesting article that is a bit personal to me. I used to work at Mahlum Architects in Seattle. I adored it. My entire perspective changed while working there, and it was because of the way my colleagues thought. I started to pay attention to what was around me, and how it was designed, and how it affected not just me, but others as well.

This week, on ArchDaily, the editor’s choice is an article by my friend and old colleague, Corrie Rosen. She is an educational architect by job, but also did some pro bono work with Mahlum on women’s shelters. This article compares how schools can be healing and safe places for students, and how it relates to shelters.

She doesn’t like the publicity for herself, but honestly, I can’t think of a better person to engage this conversation. She brought back my inspiration.

So, enjoy.

This Eight Things Domestic Violence Shelters Can Teach Us About School Design.

Oh, and I’ll add a photo from one of the school’s Mahlum has designed. They are gorgeous, and I would love for my future kids to attend any of these schools.

Photo of Rosa Parks Elementary School, by Benjamin Benschneider.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading So, it’s been a while. at ah, little chameleon.

meta

