Evolution of music.

December 31, 2012 § Leave a comment

I am a fan of Beck.

To which anyone who knows me would immediately snort and say, “Fan? More like fanatic.” 

But I’m not a fanatic in the sense that I stalk people and my life revolves around them. More that I truly appreciate everything that person does, and will immediately purchase whatever they put out into the world.

I have a lot of memories with Beck – with my father, with my husband, with ex-boyfriends, with friends, with old jobs… I can tell you what was going on in my life based on which  one of his albums was out at the time.

He evolves with every album. It is very different, but uniquely different. Ranging from super raw, hard, nearly punk to symphonic and almost operatic to hip hop to pop…sometimes all in one song. Music is very personal to him, and that comes across easily to the listener.

Which is why his new album is both brilliant and odd. He is releasing it only as sheet music.

Song Reader is 20 new songs presented only as sheet music, in the hopes that enterprising musicians will record their own versions.” (NPR has the full article, and interview with Beck.)

I’m so intrigued. Which is why I love Beck to begin with.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Evolution of music. at ah, little chameleon.

meta

