Vespertine.

December 2, 2012 § 1 Comment

This last week, I fell into my old comfort music from more than a decade ago. Bjork…in particular Vespertine…was a big part of that. I used to listen to it incessantly the summer between my sophomore and junior year in college.

It had been a while since I listened to the album, and it was great to re-experience it. If you haven’t listened to it, I highly recommend it.

As luck would have it, someone else was thinking about Vespertine this week. Across the nation from me, who has never met me. I love those moments.

Design*Sponge did a Sound Garden feature on it.

Design*Sponge Sound Garden folks must be my age and have the exact same taste in music, because this isn’t the first time this exact scenario has happened. Beck’s Sea Change (an absolutely gorgeous album. Listen to it alone when you need a good raw cry.)

While I see similarities in these with the albums (Bjork’s album is rich and warm and hard and soft; while Beck’s is highly sensory and spiky and evocative) I’m not sure if they totally hit the mark. But I appreciate that art can be made from art, and that we are inspired in so many different perspectives.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Vespertine.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vespertine. at ah, little chameleon.

meta

