My second favorite place.

April 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

Second only to libraries in the ranking of my favorite built spaces are train stations.

And once again, thanks to flavorwire and the fug girls, I can continue my conversation on architectural photos and the loveliness of places I will forever hold dear–even if I’ve never visited them.

I love traveling, and traveling in a train offers the best of it all. You don’t have to worry about traffic, you can sleep, or watch lazily out the window as beautiful scenery passes, or read a book. There is the rocking motion that will forever be a calming sensation, you can walk around whenever you need to instead of sitting couped up in one location for hours, or eat whenever you feel like it.

But most of all, it just feels different than going from point A to point B. The journey is part of the experience. And people watching is FANTASTIC.

Whether you are taking a train into work, or going on a vacation, it is very distinct, and the spaces reflect that. Terrifically tall, open spaces flooded with light that are warm, inviting and more personal, which is a difficult feat considering most materials used are stone.

While I’ve only personally experienced a couple of these, I have loved train stations all around the world. The energy, the light, the excitement. Oh, how I want to take a train now!

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My second favorite place. at ah, little chameleon.

meta

